Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Beginner's mistakes !!!

I'm no pro or anything, i'm pretty much still a newbie too but i want to share some important things for all beginners out there.

-choosing the right broker
    some brokers have better platforms that offer more expiries and assets, or better pips for better entries, better account managers, or offer webinars or have great education system, better payouts, better customer service, etc...
    choose what is most important to you. do some research.
    also the turnover upon first deposit is a major pain in the ass.
    for example, broker will say, if you deposit 1000, they will match that with 150% bonus, meaning an extra 1500 to your account.
    might sound good at first, but they will say you have to trade a turnover 30 times your bonus, which would be
    1500 x 30 = 45000. that will take months, if not at least half a year until you see a dime of your money.
    id suggest lowering your turnover as low as you can, take minimal or no bonus and trade carefully,
    yet alone, start with a demo first, and develop some strategies and trade sparingly on the real account.

-having discipline
    set up some rules for yourself, so you dont do crazy things. like getting excited over an event, and trading excessively
    for example, when the iphone 6 came out, i assumed that apple's stock will surely go up that day,
    so i blindy placed multiple calls, but the stock went down and i lost alot.
    dont stick to only fundamental news on indicidual stock
    if anything, overall market news has greater effect on the direction of the movement of the stocks
    dont assume, because of a common event, stock will go up
    for example, it was recently black friday, and you would assume amazon's price will shoot up
    but i did not place calls on amazon, because i had a gut feeling, the market will be irrational
    not to mention, the recent consumer confidence was lower than expected