Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How do you read long expiry charts? !!!

I've taken 3 long expiry live trades (D4, W1, M1). I'm still waiting for one to finish but I think it's a goner. Two which expired lost too. I'm very new to BO and I took the trade when I was just starting to understand S&R (which I still don't fully understand yet). I reanalyzed the charts and saw my mistakes and they were very obvious. I think that there were no big news that may have affected my calculation and it was purely my stupidity. My questions are, is S&R analysis the same for shorter trades like M30, H1, H4 to D4, W1, M1? If there is a bad news like earthquake, tsunami, terrorist attacks, etc., can this affect shorter trades like M15, M30, H1?

My apologies for my very newbie question.
    Thank you very much guys!

Longer timeframe S/R are use for long time could be use for short timeframe. Short timeframe S/R not suitabe to be use for long term.

Quote Originally Posted by willyw View Post
    Longer timeframe S/R are use for long time could be use for short timeframe. Short timeframe S/R not suitabe to be use for long term.
    That is a great advice. I tried using shorter time frame S&R for longer expiry and it was disastrous.

PS: I have been trying to comb the forum to read your posts. My favorite is your advice on USD/JPY's characteristics. I also look up to the way you did analysis on long lengths of paper years ago without computers. You must be very-very skilled! I will be reading your posts and will try to learn your tips. Thank you very much willyw!

Hi Ronnel,

Don’t worry Your question is not a newbie question! Actually it is a very serious one.