Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How much to trade !!!

Hi all,

My name is Patrick, I'm a newbie trader. Recently I practice to use MACD indicator to trade on my live account. The indicator and strategy seems very nice, I win 5/5 trades and 4/5 trades and 3/4 trades per day . I only place 10 on every trade.

Now I think want to increase my bet, but I don't know how much should I increase. My account balance now have 148 usd.

Since I'm newbie, I'm afraid I will lose because of greedy. Souls you guys give me some advise or guideline?

Thanks in advance.

Hi bongsh

Its nice to hear that you are successful with MACD which I am also using.

This is the reason I have sent a friend request through Skype which is still to be accepted by you.

Would it possible to add me on Skype (Edwin.alexander119) so that we would be able
    to communicate directly.

I would be online today at least for another 3/4 hours

Hi Bong,

Question is how big is your risk? biggest problem in trading is the risk, as long as we manage our risk then the profit will come by itself.

Several questions to ask:
    How many consecutive losses can wipe out your account? (In probability, 5 consecutive losses is normal, 10 is uncommon but possible, 20 is rare but possible)
    How bad is your system when you have bad day? try to research first and you will know how big is too big.
    Do you feel strong rushing emotion when you place trade? (If yes, maybe your position size bigger than what you can accept)

going through these questions, you will get the numbers.

In my opinion you should increase your bet a little bit each time you feel safe doing so. Do it couple of times and than stop... See how you are doing with the new risk, observe it.
    If you're doing good you can repeat the process and each time increase the bet with more percentage. The important thing in my opinion is to do it slowly and stop the increasing every time for observation.

This is how I do it