CommuniTraders 2.0 Coming Soon,
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: I'm in CogStochastic Binary Options Strategy – Newbies Approved and there are questio

  1. #1
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23

    I'm in CogStochastic Binary Options Strategy – Newbies Approved and there are questio

    I'm in Primary School /CogStochastic Binary Options Strategy – Newbies Approved

    the link for the above is:

    http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...bies-approved/

    The download link is :

    http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...8/COGSTOCH.rar

    My WINRAR open it up and gave out COGSTOCH.mq4

    And is there any way to copy MT4 screens here in a forum message ?

    What is .mq4 files?
    I found this on the internet

    You'll have to save the .mq4 files in the following directory (indicators) on your computer

    C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 4\experts\indicators

    Then restart MT4 then select Indicators\custom and select COGSTOCH

    It will come up with a option box . I don't know what options So I used the default . But the default doesn't reflect what was in class

    Any help with options for COGSTOCH would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryF View Post
    I'm in Primary School /CogStochastic Binary Options Strategy – Newbies Approved

    the link for the above is:

    http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...bies-approved/

    The download link is :

    http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...8/COGSTOCH.rar

    My WINRAR open it up and gave out COGSTOCH.mq4

    And is there any way to copy MT4 screens here in a forum message ?

    What is .mq4 files?
    I found this on the internet

    You'll have to save the .mq4 files in the following directory (indicators) on your computer

    C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 4\experts\indicators

    Then restart MT4 then select Indicators\custom and select COGSTOCH

    It will come up with a option box . I don't know what options So I used the default . But the default doesn't reflect what was in class

    Any help with options for COGSTOCH would be appreciated
    The second file to download is http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...08/Fxtrend.rar
    My WINRAR opens it and comes out with Fxtrend.ex4

    A little researching on .ex4 files yields this on forex forum :

    ex4 files are compilled mq4 files. They can be EAs or Custom Indicators. So, you have to know what exactly is your file in order to copy it in the correct folder. If it is an EA you have to copy the file in ....\MetaTrader\experts\. If it is an Indicator you have to copy it in ....\MetaTrader\experts\indicators\.

    If it is an indicator it should work with no problems after you attach it to the chart (unless there are errors in the code). If it is an EA you have to enable the use of Expert Advisors from Tools - Options - Expert Advisors. You also have to check "allow live trading" from the dialog box that appears when you attach the EA to the chart.

    Well I don't know if the compiled files are EA or Custom but this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready ?

  3. #3
    I wish I could help you Larry. I also went through the school, but was never able to open/save the indicators. Either it opened as some kinda foreign language that I could not understand, or it wanted me to chose what program to use to open it.

  4. #4
    Hi You have got it right, copy both file to this directory

    C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 4\experts\indicators

    After you copy both files, open Meta editor


    What you need to do is choose from navigator list, just choose moving average, double click it and compile (This will compile everything in the meta trader folder which mean our newly copied ex4 and mq4 files).
    After that just close the meta editor and drag and drop your indicators to charts, voila it will be like my chart below



    Well I don't know if the compiled files are EA or Custom but this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready ?
    We cannot determine which one is EA or indicators, if you are programmer you will give just EX4 files instead of mq4 because ex4 has description and not showing source code written, while mq4 give the source code.

    And is there any way to copy MT4 screens here in a forum message ?
    Yes, you can save MT4 screens by right clicking your chart "Save as picture" - Active chart (As is)
    and then upload your pic file to forum or just use image upload website such as imageshacks

    I hope this can help you.

  5. #5
    Happy New Year everyone!

    You're wasting no time, Larry. First day of teh year and you're learning. Well, I like a hardworking guy
    First of all, I would like to mention that I opened three threads where questions about:

    Meta Trader 4: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ader-4-Q-amp-A
    Indicators: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ll-be-answered
    and Strategies: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ll-be-answered

    can be asked and answered by me (or others who have the knowledge if I don't)
    I would have expected the moderators to "sticky" those threads so we can avoid having questions and answers scattered all over the forum.

    What you found on the net about .ex4 and .mq4 is correct and that is the way to install an indicator in your MT4 chart.
    If some of the files provided within the article were EAs, I would have mentioned it because an EA is used totally different than an indicator. Taken from my article: "For this one you will need two indicators, both available at the end of this article and on our Forum. The first indicator is the CoGStochastic". Clearly, no Expert Advisor is involved.

    About the settings of the indicators: If I dont mention any settings, it means the original author didnt do that either. This type of articles are reviews, explanations and personal opinions about existing strategies which were originally put together by other guys. You say the default doesnt reflect what was in class but did you check the time frame, the date and time of teh chart presented in the picture? Because you have to compare your chart with the exact same period shown in the picture if you want to get an accurate reading.

    To answer your final question: "this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready?" Yes, it is but dont over-complicate things. There is no talk about EAs or about special settings.

    Here's some more info on the basic use of MT4: http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...ting-software/
    And some detailed explanation of how to install an indicator in MT4 (with pictures): http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...inary-options/
    If I missed something, let me know.
    All the best.

  6. #6
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by hchandra View Post
    Hi You have got it right, copy both file to this directory

    C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 4\experts\indicators

    After you copy both files, open Meta editor


    What you need to do is choose from navigator list, just choose moving average, double click it and compile (This will compile everything in the meta trader folder which mean our newly copied ex4 and mq4 files).
    After that just close the meta editor and drag and drop your indicators to charts, voila it will be like my chart below



    Well I don't know if the compiled files are EA or Custom but this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready ?
    We cannot determine which one is EA or indicators, if you are programmer you will give just EX4 files instead of mq4 because ex4 has description and not showing source code written, while mq4 give the source code.

    And is there any way to copy MT4 screens here in a forum message ?
    Yes, you can save MT4 screens by right clicking your chart "Save as picture" - Active chart (As is)
    and then upload your pic file to forum or just use image upload website such as imageshacks

    I hope this can help you.
    yes thank you cchandra

    One more question how did you that chart in this thread. I make mistakes in charts and if I can get it in threads it would be more clear. How do you do that?

  7. #7
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Bogdan G View Post
    Happy New Year everyone!

    You're wasting no time, Larry. First day of teh year and you're learning. Well, I like a hardworking guy
    First of all, I would like to mention that I opened three threads where questions about:

    Meta Trader 4: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ader-4-Q-amp-A
    Indicators: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ll-be-answered
    and Strategies: http://forums.binaryoptionsthatsuck....ll-be-answered

    can be asked and answered by me (or others who have the knowledge if I don't)
    I would have expected the moderators to "sticky" those threads so we can avoid having questions and answers scattered all over the forum.

    What you found on the net about .ex4 and .mq4 is correct and that is the way to install an indicator in your MT4 chart.
    If some of the files provided within the article were EAs, I would have mentioned it because an EA is used totally different than an indicator. Taken from my article: "For this one you will need two indicators, both available at the end of this article and on our Forum. The first indicator is the CoGStochastic". Clearly, no Expert Advisor is involved.

    About the settings of the indicators: If I dont mention any settings, it means the original author didnt do that either. This type of articles are reviews, explanations and personal opinions about existing strategies which were originally put together by other guys. You say the default doesnt reflect what was in class but did you check the time frame, the date and time of teh chart presented in the picture? Because you have to compare your chart with the exact same period shown in the picture if you want to get an accurate reading.

    To answer your final question: "this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready?" Yes, it is but dont over-complicate things. There is no talk about EAs or about special settings.

    Here's some more info on the basic use of MT4: http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...ting-software/
    And some detailed explanation of how to install an indicator in MT4 (with pictures): http://www.binaryoptionsthatsuck.com...inary-options/
    If I missed something, let me know.
    All the best.
    Thank You Bogdan. I promise not to talk about things I don't have experience using.

  8. #8
    No, no, please talk about things you dont have experience with. Ask, learn and then use profitably. After all, that's why we are all here
    Just dont complicate things when there's no need to because it can get overwhelming. Just install the indicators as explained in my links and try the strategy on a demo account (CommuniTraders).

    Cheers!

  9. #9
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Chandra I don't know what Meta editor is . Is that on MetatradeR ?
    Quote Originally Posted by hchandra View Post
    Hi You have got it right, copy both file to this directory

    C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 4\experts\indicators

    After you copy both files, open Meta editor


    What you need to do is choose from navigator list, just choose moving average, double click it and compile (This will compile everything in the meta trader folder which mean our newly copied ex4 and mq4 files).
    After that just close the meta editor and drag and drop your indicators to charts, voila it will be like my chart below



    Well I don't know if the compiled files are EA or Custom but this is usfull information But is it Newbie ready ?
    We cannot determine which one is EA or indicators, if you are programmer you will give just EX4 files instead of mq4 because ex4 has description and not showing source code written, while mq4 give the source code.

    And is there any way to copy MT4 screens here in a forum message ?
    Yes, you can save MT4 screens by right clicking your chart "Save as picture" - Active chart (As is)
    and then upload your pic file to forum or just use image upload website such as imageshacks

    I hope this can help you.

  10. #10
    Newbie LarryF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    23
    THANKS Chandra I don't know what is Met Editor is that on Metatrader?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •